The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is an adaptable programme geared towards developing essential life skills in young people. Launched in 1956 in the UK, the Award is now run in over 130 countries, and in Pakistan, over 12,000 young people have benefited from its inspirational activities since 1987. In 2020, twenty-two Newlanders achieved the Bronze and Silver Awards.
Link to Video: What is the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award

The Award recognises individual achievements outside of the classroom and encourages participants to challenge themselves and focus on their personal development.

How we prepare our students

  • At Beaconhouse Newlands, our students work around the year to pursue and record their activities in these four areas.
  • Unit Leaders on campus verify these activities.
  • On the completion of verification, students receive their medallions and certificates from the Duke of Edinburgh Award’s representatives in Pakistan.

Key facts about the programme

There are three levels of the Award in which you can participate – Bronze, Silver and Gold, with each successive level demanding increased commitment.

  • BRONZE— for those over 14. The minimum period of participation to gain this Award is 6 months;
  • SILVER — for those over 15. The minimum period of participation to gain this Award is 12 months;
  • GOLD    — for those over 16. The minimum period of participation to gain this Award is 18 months.

You do not have to start at the Bronze level. If you are over 15 you can join directly at the Silver level or if you are over 16, directly at Gold. You will complete silver in 6 months if you have Bronze and may take one year for Gold if you are a silver holder.

Sections of the Award Programme

The personalised nature of the Award allows participants to set goals and challenges according to their own interests and abilities. The Award is achieved through consistent participation in the four components over a period of time, whilst demonstrating commitment and improvement in each undertaking.

Sections of the Award Programme
The Award consists of  four compulsory components, all four Sections (plus an additional requirement of a Residential Project at Gold level only) must be tackled for the specified minimum period of time. The Sections are:
To encourage a sense of responsibility to the community through:
1- community service projects
2- conservation work
3- voluntary service in hospitals or community homes
4- or more specialised training such as lifesaving, first aid or rescue services
The emphasis of this Section is the regular giving of a service.
To encourage the development of personal interests and learn practical skills. There are over 200 hobby and vocational Skills from which you can choose, such as Photography, Cacti Growing, Magazine Production, and Metal Work.
To encourage improved performance and physical fitness. Participants are required to take part in some form of organised physical recreation and show individual progress. Most team and individual sports are included, such as football, athletics, archery, swimming and canoeing. The list is endless, depending on what appeals to you.
ADVENTUROUS JOURNEY: (Expedition/Exploration)
An understanding of the environment, and the importance of working together in a team with a common purpose. The Adventurous Journey may be by foot, bicycle, boat or horseback, or alternatively it may be an equally challenging adventurous journey. Proper training and preparation, self-sufficiency, self-reliance and the exploration of new surroundings are the key elements. If you are feeling particularly adventurous then the Adventurous Journey Section could be fulfilled overseas, perhaps on an organised exchange with an Award group from another country.
RESIDENTIAL PROJECT (for Gold level only)
Intended to broaden your experience through living and working with others (who are not your everyday companions) over a period of five consecutive days.

To learn more about the award programmes: